Sweet mung bean soup with lily bulbs

Sweet what bean soup with lily what?

This is a typical sweet soup that the Chinese make during summer. Both mung bean and lily bulb are ‘cold’ in nature, so they are especially good for toning down the heat on a hot summer day. It’s also great for clearing those unwanted pimples (not that I have any 😉

You can get all the ingredients you need from a Chinese grocer. You only need 4 ingredients, or 3 if you don’t count water.

Ingredients:

Mung beans
Dried lily bulbs
Rock sugar (I use cane sugar lumps)
Water

First thoroughly wash the mung beans and  lily bulbs, you will regret it later when you find sand in your soup. Put both inside a pot, pressure cooker, slow cooker…whatever your favourite method of cooking is.

Then fill up the pot with cold water. If you are using a slow cooker, don’t fill up too much at the start, you can gradually add more water as the legumes cook.

Cook the mung beans and lily bulbs until they are both tender. I used a slow cooker, on high, it took about 4 hours. I stirred the soup a few times also. Put in the rock sugar last – use as much or as little as you like. Stir until the sugar is melted. Now it’s done! A piece of cake!

I like mine ice cold rather than scorching hot, so I wait until the pot has cooled and stick it in the fridge. Beats any ice cream.

Today, being Australia Day, we celebrated with snags, grilled onion, plus a nice summery peach and tomato salad. And yes, we ate it all on the coffee table!

3 Responses to Sweet mung bean soup with lily bulbs

  1. Kathy Hester (geekypoet) says:

    Yum! I will have to make the mung beans they sound amazing.

    I love my slow cooker! I have a bunch of healthy slow cooker recipes that I post on my blog if you’re interested. (http://healthyslowcooking.wordpress.com)

    • cinnamobus says:

      Thanks Kathy, I will definitely check your recipes out, I’ve been looking for some vegetarian slow cooker recipes!

  2. Bing says:

    Love Mung beans ^.^

Leave a Reply

