I munna eat chu lil fishy!

It’s funny how I never used to pay much attention to my parents’ 150 litre fish tank with an abundance of various types of goldfish. When it comes to our new 20 litre fish tank that is now home to two shubunkins and two mystery snails, I am transfixed.

Meet Ken Watanabe and Utada Hikaru. Ben thought that since they were Japanese shubunkins, they deserved Japanese names – except that Ken Watanabe is super dumb, eating everthing in sight, including the white gravels (but he spits them out obviously). We may have also confused the sexes, as they could both be male for all we know. Sorry Utada.

The mystery snails are another matter altogether. Those seemingly docile creatures move at an amazing speed across the tank. They are nifty little gadgets, as they both clean the tank and are able to tell you when there’s something wrong with the water. They do the latter by closing their little ‘trap doors’ so that water does not get in. Unfortunately, my camera was too fixated with the fishes to capture those amazing little things.

IMG_1930

IMG_1925

IMG_1924

IMG_1922

IMG_1927

5 Responses to I munna eat chu lil fishy!

  1. cinnamobus says:

    I’m gonna eatchu little fishies!

  2. I know, aren’t those little snails the niftiest creatures ever! We used to clean our fishtank and it was a pain but we had no idea that snails would have done the trick nicely!

    • cinnamobus says:

      Yeh, we have to work on not killing the snails and/or the fishes now!
      I have your site on my favourite links page and check your blog daily 🙂 Thanks to your recs, I never run out of restaurants to visit when I come to Sydney!

  3. JimmyBean says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

