Buyer feedback: 100%

When Cleopatra dissolved one of her pearl earrings in a glass of vinegar and proceeded to drink the mixture in front of Mark Antony, she created a paradigm to the phrase ‘one man’s trash is another man’s treasure’.

Some two thousand years later, although it was no precious pearl earring, Pierre Omidyar sold a broken laser pointer online to a guy that collected broken laser pointers. And so it became the eBay avant la lettre, and as they say, the rest is history.

Hello, my name is Shirley, and I am an eBay addict.

It all started with a harmless pair of shoes, those sparling pretty things,  exactly my size, for a fraction of the retail. I blame the trick photography and the seller’s gift with words.

Then it was an amazing Alannah Hill sequined silk skirt, a limited release many seasons ago, impossible to find in the shops, and would have costed more than $400 in retail. It was a bargain for $150.

Another pair of earrings and some Seinfeld DVDs later, I was hooked.

But hang on, if you are waiting to hear a sob story of how a girl had filled up her house with useless things from eBay and spent all her money on redundant things, then you’d be disappointed, because, I was, what I would call, a discerning buyer.

I never bought those so-claimed designer labels on eBay, as it is just so easy to sell counterfeits online. I always bid the highest price I was willing to pay, and never once regretted the price I paid. I would never buy an item if the postage was exorbitantly high, that’s an indication of an amateur seller or someone who is trying to rip people off. And, of course, the seller’s feedback is also important. Proof that I’m not reckless? A quick check of my eBay feedback counts only 108 buying transactions since March 2002. That’s not so bad is it?

Hmmmm I really need a pair of dangling pearl earrings…

Leave a Reply

